Getting started

Home Forum Ask The Experts Getting started

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  scott_hanson 3 weeks, 1 day ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

craigalb
    Participant

I’m 57 and recently passed my Class A CDL to keep my options open for future employment. What started the process is a long time friend who owns his own business said I should come and drive for them after learning that I currently drive a school bus.
    The money he said I could make sounded very enticing Making ends meet is difficult with my current job but I am struggling with giving up time with family and grandkids to make the switch. In a previous career I drove about 100 miles a day around a major metro city doing service calls on low voltage electronics. I know OTR is a whole different thing but I’m comfortable with working/driving solo.
    Even though I have my license I have ZERO experience with 10/13/18 speed non-synchro tranny’s and double clutching. I know a lot of that is just time behind the wheel but where do you get time behind the wheel?
    Just looking for thoughts/opinions and pitfalls to watch out for if I opt to drive with a national company.

lynnhoward1201
    Participant

I too older. 61 and female, former state LEO and drive a school bus (now). Alone, just me and my dogs. Have a Class B CDL, 4 years driving a school bus. Past, almost, 20 years driving in jobs. CLEAN! Driving Record! Some trucker friends said I should upgrade to Class A to increase income and drive with them. Found a school in Norfolk, start in Feb. Is your company in Norfolk area. What to look for??? Any thoughts?? Companies??

scott_hanson